Project area C: Characterization and evaluation

Project area C: Characterization and evaluation
Project area C: Characterization and evaluation

Project area C comprises local structure-, defect-, and chemical analysis,
characterization of technologically relevant mechanical properties, evaluation of the local texture and anisotropy, description of the failure mechanisms under mechanical load, as well as a detailed analysis of the relationship between lattice defects and internal strain in the system Fe-Mn-C.


The main focus of sub-project C1 is the characterization of the atomistic structures of the phases involved, internal boundaries and interfaces, as well as stacking faults and twin boundaries with the help of high resolution SEM and TEM imaging techniques. Furthermore, high resolution analytical techniques are used for the characterization of local chemical compositions, inhomogeneities and segregations.  Quantitative microprobe analysis will reveal information on microsegregations. Furthermore, for the comparison of the predictions of the ab initio calculations, an experimental analysis of the electronic structure in the bulk and in the area of defects in the occurring phases will be performed with electron spectroscopic techniques. The microstructural results will also help to improve the mechanism maps in sub-project A5.


Sub-project C2 combines the development of a novel analysis technique, with which the TWIP-effect can be visualized in situ, with an extensive characterization of the macroscopic mechanical properties. The mechanical properties are determined in a temperature range from -40°C to 180°C, which is relevant for the intended industrial applications. In addition, creep curves are recorded for the validation of the micromechanical models developed in A7.

The local mechanical properties of the investigated materials are determined via nanoindentation in sub-project C3. For this purpose, chemically pure thin films are deposited, whose local mechanical properties are also of interest in sub-project A2. In addition the local mechanical properties of the technical alloys produced in B1 are determined.

In further investigations, the basic mechanisms of texture development in multiphase steels will be determined and analysed in sub-project C4. For this purpose, information on the free enthalpies as well as the mesoscopic topology of the different phases after primary solidification is gathered (among others based on results of A2, A3 and C1). The resulting information will be used for micromechanical modelling on the basis of crystal-plasticity-FEM methods in sub-project A7. The corresponding experiments will be carried out on the basis of the newly developed technique of simultaneous 3D-orientation and phase determination on a FIB-SEMEBSD instrument, which was introduced by the MPIE.

 

Part Projects of Project Area C

Projektbereich C: Prüfmethodik und Evaluation

Projektbereich C: Prüfmethodik und Evaluation
Projektbereich C: Prüfmethodik und Evaluation

Der Projektbereich C umfasst lokale Struktur-, Defekt- und chemische Analysen, die Charakterisierung werkstofftechnisch relevanter mechanischer Eigenschaften unter Berücksichtigung lokaler mechanischer Eigenschaften, die Beschreibung der lokalen Textur und Anisotropie, die Beschreibung der Schädigung nach mechanischer Beanspruchung sowie die Untersuchung der Gitterdefekte und der (Eigen)-Spannungen im System Fe-Mn-C.

Schwerpunkt bei der Analyse der lokalen Struktur ist die Charakterisierung der atomistischen Struktur, der inneren Grenzflächen, Stapelfehler und Zwillingsgrenzen mit Hilfe der hochauflösenden REM und TEM Abbildung, die in C1 stattfindet. Diese hochauflösenden analytischen Verfahren werden beispielsweise zur Charakterisierung lokaler chemischer Inhomogenitäten, z.B. von Mikroseigerungen mittels EDX angewandt. Für den Vergleich mit den Vorhersagen aus den ab initio Rechnungen ist ferner eine experimentelle Analyse der elektronischen Struktur im Volumen und im Bereich von Defekten in den beteiligten Phasen geplant. Über die Gefügecharakterisierung kann die Mechanismenkarte in A5 verbessert werden.

Teilprojekt C2 verbindet die Entwicklung einer neuartigen Prüfmethodik, mit deren Hilfe der TWIP-Effekt in situ sichtbar gemacht werden soll, mit einer umfassenden Charakterisierung der globalen mechanischen Eigenschaften. Die mechanischen Eigenschaften werden im Temperaturbereich -40°C bis 180°C bestimmt, wie es für eine spätere industrielle Anwendung notwendig ist. Weiterhin werden in diesem Projekt Fließkurven aufgenommen, mit deren Hilfe die mikromechanischen Modelle in A7 validiert werden.

Die lokalen mechanischen Eigenschaften der untersuchten Werkstoffe werden in Teilprojekt C3 mittels Nanoindentierung ermittelt. Dazu werden zum Einen chemisch reine dünne Schichten hergestellt, deren lokale mechanische Eigenschaften in Teilprojekt A2 Verwendung finden. Des weiteren werden die lokalen mechanischen Eigenschaften der in B1 erzeugten technischen Legierungen bestimmt.

Weiterhin sollen die grundsätzlichen Mechanismen der Texturentstehung bei Mehrphasenstählen bestimmt und verstanden werden (C4). Dazu werden Informationen über die freien Enthalpien der unterschiedlichen Phasen sowie der mesoskopischen Topologie der Phasen nach der Primärerstarrung zusammengeführt (unter anderem Ergebnisse aus A2, A3 und C1). Die gewonnenen Informationen werden zur mikromechanischen Modellierung auf der Basis der Kristallplastizitäts-FEM in Teilprojekt A7 verwendet. Die Experimente werden mit der am MPIE eingeführten Methode der gleichzeitigen 3D Orientierungs- und Phasenbestimmung an einem FIB-SEM-EBSD durchgeführt.
 

Teilprojekte des Projektbereichs C