Structure

Within the Collaborative Research Unit (SFB 761) „Steel – ab initio: quantum mechanics guided design of new Fe based material“ scientist from the RWTH Aachen University and researchers from the Max-Planck Institute for Iron Research (MPIE) work in close co-operation. Speaker of the SFB 761 is Prof. Wolfgang Bleck, head of department and chair of the institute of ferrous metallurgy at RWTH Aachen University. Prof. Dierk Raabe from MPIE stays deputy speaker during the third research period. Altogether six institutions from RWTH and two from MPIE contribute to the 17 part projects and 2 transfer projects with industrial co-operation. From RWTH these are:

 

Team in 3rd Research Period 2015-2019
Team in 3rd Research Period 2015-2019

 

GfE
Central Facility for Electron Microscopy
Prof. Joachim Mayer
 
IAC
Institute for Inorganic Chemistry
Prof. Richard Dronskowski
 
IBF
Institute of Metal Forming
Prof. Gerhard Hirt
 
IEHK  
Institute for Ferrous Metallurgy
Prof. Wolfgang Bleck
 
IEHK
Chair for Metallurgy of Iron and Steel
Prof. Dieter Senk
 
IMM

Institute for Physical Metallurgy and Metal Physics
Prof. Sandra Korte-Kerzel

IWM
Institute for Materials Application in Mechanical Engineering
Prof. Christoph Broeckmann
 
MCh

Chair of Materials Chemistry
Prof. Jochen Schneider

In MPIE two departments are involved:

Computational Materials Design
Prof. Jörg Neugebauer
 
Microstructurephysics and Alloy Design
Prof. Dierk Raabe

 

During the third research period most of the former part project are continued while new part projects are set up. These extende the continuous scientific work of the modelling approaches on different scales, of the investigation methods for nanostructured steels with their characteristic deformation mechanisms as well as their production- and processing routes.

 

Projectstructure- Project Divisions - Part Projects
Projectstructure- Project Divisions - Part Projects

 

The project is organized in three divisions. Model development, ab initio as well as metal physical, are concentrated in division A “Theory of metallurgic basic principles”. Modeling ab initio means free of premises solely based on natural constants. The developed models give data for division B “Process development and sampling production” to apply in process control and as recommendations for chemical composition. Division B realizes the production development for the FeMnC material, which is used in Division C for “Characterization and evaluation”. These data is finally used for validation of the models from division A.

Projektstruktur

Struktur

Der SFB wird in Kooperation mit dem Max-Planck-Institut für Eisenforschung in Düsseldorf durchgeführt. Sprecher des SFB bleibt auch im dritten Antragszeitraum Prof. Wolfgang Bleck, Leiter des Instituts für Eisenhüttenkunde. Prof. Dierk Raabe (MPIE) ist als stellvertretender Sprecher des SFB eingebunden. Dem Vorstand des SFB gehören ferner Prof. Dronskowski, Prof. Hirt und Prof. Meyer an. Insgesamt arbeiten acht Einrichtungen der RWTH und zwei Abteilungen des MPIE in 17 Teilprojekten und 2 Transferprojekten unter industrieller Beteiligung im SFB. Folgende Institute und Lehrstühle sind beteiligt:

 

Teilnehmer der 3. Antragsphase 2015-2019
Teilnehmer der 3. Antragsphase 2015-2019

 

GfE
Gemeinschaftslabor für Elektronenmikroskopie
Prof. Joachim Mayer
 
IAC
Institut für Anorganische Chemie
Prof. Richard Dronskowski
 
IBF
Institut für Bildsame Formgebung
Prof. Gerhard Hirt
 
IEHK  
Institut für Eisenhüttenkunde
Prof. Wolfgang Bleck
 
IEHK
Lehrstuhl für Metallurgie von Eisen und Stahl
Prof. Dieter Senk
 
IMM
Institut für Metallkunde und Metallphysik
Prof. Sandra Korte-Kerzel
 
IWM
Institut für Werkstoffanwendungen im Maschinenbau
Prof. Christoph Broeckmann
 
MCh
Lehrstuhl für Werkstoffchemie
Prof. Jochen Schneider
 
MPIE
Max-Planck-Institut für Eisenforschung
Computergestütztes Material-Design
Prof. Jörg Neugebauer
 
MPIE
Max-Planck-Institut für Eisenforschung
Mikrostrukturphysik und Umformtechnik
Prof. Dierk Raabe
 

 

In der dritten Antragsphase sind neben der Fortführung der meisten Projekte neue Teilprojekte hinzugekommen. Diese erweitern die fortgeführte wissenschaftliche Bearbeitung der Modellierungsansätze auf verschiedenen Skalen, die neuen Untersuchungsmethoden für nanostrukturierte Stähle mit ihren charakteristischen Verformungsmechanismen sowie ihre Herstell- und Verarbeitungsprozesse. Es werden zwei Transferprojekte unter industrieller Beteiligung bearbeitet.

 

Projektstruktur in der dritten Antragsphase
Projektstruktur in der dritten Antragsphase

 

Der Sonderforschungsbereich ist in drei Projektbereiche gegliedert. Die Modellentwicklung, sowohl ab initio als auch metallphysikalisch, werden in dem Projektbereich A „Theorie der metallkundlichen Grundlagen“ durchgeführt. Dabei bedeutet ab initio eine voraussetzungsfreie, lediglich auf Naturkonstanten basierte, Modellierung. Die mit den Modellen entwickelten Daten können in Projektbereich B „Prozessentwicklung und Probenherstellung“ als Empfehlung für die Prozessführung und die chemische Zusammensetzung der Stähle verwendet werden. In Projektbereich B findet die Prozessentwicklung für die behandelte Werkstoffgruppe statt. Das in diesem Projektbereich hergestellte Material wird vor allem in Projektbereich C „Prüfmethodik und Evaluation“ genutzt. Die in Projektbereich C ermittelten Daten dienen schlussendlich der Validierung der Modelle aus Projektbereich A.